indexOur MissionActivitiesnewsPolicy IssuesMembershipContacting UsLinks

New England Rural Health News

Newsletter of the New England Rural Health RoundTable

Make a Difference, Join a Committee!
The NE Rural Health RoundTable offers many opportunities for members to get together, be active, and make a difference. Our committees draw upon the strengths and interests of our members. As a result of the annual symposium and the Board's strategic planning, the Committees are busier than ever... and in need of your help. You do not need to make a huge commitment. Offer what you can. Meetings are held most often by conference call.

Please contact a Committee Chair and join a committee:

Bylaws Committee - Barbara Berger, [email protected] or (860) 738-6378 - With an eye toward making NERHRT function as effectively as possible, this committee conducts an annual review of our bylaws and recommends needed revisions accordingly.

Communications Committee - Cathleen McElligott, [email protected] or (508)792-7880 - This committee communicates NERHRT activities to members. They publish our newsletter, develop and maintain the web site, and maintain databases to communicate with members and other constituent groups.

Nominating Committee - Donna Truesdell, [email protected] or (413) 773-2232 - This committee consults with membership regarding selecting members to the Board of Directors of NERHRT and prepares a slate of officers for vote.

Conference Committee - Paula Smith, [email protected] or (603)895-1514 - Members of this committee are responsible for planning and overseeing all aspects of our annual symposium. Tasks include selecting a conference theme, selecting workshops, organizing the agenda, arranging for speakers and exhibits, etc.

Finance Committee - Craig Stevens, [email protected] or (802) 863-7513 - This committee is responsible for developing and monitoring the RoundTable's annual budget. Members also develop appropriate financial policies and act as the audit committee for the organization. Another important area is developing plans for long-term operational financial stability for the RoundTable.

Membership Committee - JoAnn D'Avirro, [email protected] or (860) 482-3426 - On behalf of the NE RoundTable, committee members are responsible for marketing and recruiting members. They also focus efforts on membership retention and membership policies.

Policy Committee - Bryan Ayars,
[email protected] or (603) 271-4547 - Members propose activities designed to increase the awareness of the needs of rural New England. They also review rural health policies and program regulations to develop any needed areas for action

Newsletter Fall 2002
Page 15
Back to Contents